New CompTIA A+ Exam Objectives (220-1001 and 220-1002) will be released this winter

CompTIA updates its certifications as a constant effort to keep up with industry changes. This update is usually done every other year. There will be a significant update to the CompTIA A+ credential in January 2019. The updated certification exams 220-901 (and 220-902) will reflect the latest regulations and technology. New codes will be added to the A+ exams: 220-1001 & 220-1002
Overview of the new CompTIA A+ exams
CompTIA 220-1001, the first of two exams, covers networking, peripherals and PC hardware, troubleshooting, etc. The updated version focuses on system memory, as well as storage devices like SSDs. Computer gaming systems are also prominently included in the update. This test will also assess your knowledge in the field of 3D printing. Candidates should not expect any major changes in the design or concepts of the exam questions. This test is more like a rewritten version than an improved one. The questions are modified to reflect the updated information.
CompTIA 220-1002 exam covers updates to operating system aspects for Windows 7, 8, and 10. The update includes updates to operating system aspects, including Windows 7, 8, and 10. The updated test includes changes in security topics that allow candidates to demonstrate their knowledge and skills in the current cyber threat landscape. Two completely new topics will be assessed in the new certification exam. One topic measures one’s knowledge and skills in regulatory compliance and operational procedures. This covers areas such as incident response, General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), and other areas. The second topic is script basics Batch, Java Virtual Basic, Python. Students will need to learn loops, integers and strings. Professionals who are looking to become developers should take this exam.
Let’s take a closer look at the objectives of these new certification exams.
CompTIA A+ Core 1 (220-1001)
Core 1 tests the skills required for entry-level IT professionals. Candidates who pass the Core 1 exam will have the knowledge to set up, maintain, and update PCs, mobile devices, and software for users. They will be able to gather components according to customer requirements; provide appropriate support; use troubleshooting skills; safely diagnose, resolve, document, and document general software or hardware issues; and understand the basics of scripting, desktop image, virtualization, deployment. The 220-1001 certification exam consists of approximately 90 performance-based questions and multiple-choice ones. The test takes 90 minutes to complete. The minimum experience required for the test is 9 months in IT support.
The exam measures specific skills. These include mobile devices (14%), networking (20%), hardware (27%), virtualization and cloud computing (12%) and hardware and networking troubleshooting (27%). This percentage represents the number of questions that can reasonably be expected from each topic.
CompTIA A+ Core 2 (220-1002)
Core 2 is also designed to assess the skills required for entry-level IT specialists. This certification test will give you the knowledge and skills to: assemble components according to customer requirements; configure, maintain, or install software and mobile devices for end-users; use troubleshooting skills; and comprehend the basics of scripting and desktop imaging, deployment, virtualization, and more. Technically, the skills required to pass this exam are similar to Core 1 but on a larger scale. The 220-1002 exam consists of 90 questions. The test takes approximately 90 minutes to complete. CompTIA recommends that candidates have at least 12 months experience as IT support specialists before they attempt the A+ exam.
These skills will be assessed in the exam. You are expected to have a good understanding of these areas and to focus on them during preparation. Topics include operating systems (27%), security (24%), software troubleshooting (26%), and operational procedures (23%). It is important that candidates must be familiar with the subtopics for each skill area.
What does this mean for your current certification status
Individuals who have CompTIA A+ will continue to be eligible